Tala Madani

The Los Angeles-based artist Tala Madani’s paintings and animated films address social and political themes such as power structures, group dynamics, and the crisis of masculinity. Mean, cruel, and brutal but also sexually awkward and comical figures populate bizarre pastel-colored sceneries rendered in loosely expressive brushstrokes that are sometimes illuminated by the glare of a spotlight.

"Shit Moms" is the title of both Tala Madani’s exhibition at Secession and a new body of work that dealswith the idea(l)s and (corpo)realities of motherhood. While the title refers to the colloquial term for women who in some regard fail their job or role as a mother, it also literally designates her approach to the theme: smeared, some what shapeless female bodies appear as mother figures made of excrement.

Venue

Secession

Friedrichstraße 12
1010 Wien
Map

Current Dates

  • Fri. 17 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

January

  • Wed. 29 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

February

  • Sat. 01 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.