Weather Forecast

Th
light rain

7.2°C

Fr
partly cloudy and sunny

7 - 9°C

Sa
sunny

5 - 11°C

Sign Language

ASL Videos BSL Videos

Moments

The gondolas of the Giant Ferris Wheel pass by slowly, one after the other.
At this moment, someone is taking a sightseeing trip above Vienna. Pity you’re not on it. Giant Ferris Wheel

Live webcam pictures

View of City Hall from the Burgtheater

Take a look at Vienna

through the webcam on the Burgtheater.

Hotels

Events

Search for events in Vienna Back to event highlights

Limit to
Detail search
  Die Fledermaus, Szenenfoto

Die Fledermaus

Operetta by Johann Strauss

Direction: Heinz Zednik

This quintessential Viennese operetta deserves to be enjoyed throughout the year, and not just on New Year's Eve. Eisenstein evades a summons to serve a brief prison sentence by accepting Falke's invitation to Prince Orlowsky's party. His wife's former beau Alfred is escorted to jail in his place, having been mistakenly identified as Eisenstein. At the party everyone plays an assumed part, and later must share in the quilt of deception. A drunken prison guard, a stolen watch ... somehow everything is worked out in the end and the operetta's motto "Glücklich ist, wer vergisst, was doch nicht zu ändern ist" ("happy are they who forget what can't be changed") rings true. (Source: Volksoper Wien)

Advance sales start from the first of each month for performances both for the current month and also the following month (for October performances from September 1st, tickets for September may be purchased from June 1st since July and August are holiday months.
Box Offices:1., Operngasse 2 & Volksoper (9., Währinger Strasse 78) & Burgtheater (1., Universitätsring 2): Mon-Fri 8 a.m.-6 p.m., Sat, Sun & holiday 9 a.m.-noon / Telephone ticket sales for holders of credit cards beginning one day after the start of advance sales: +43 1 513 1 513, Monday to Sunday: 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. /Tickets for standing room are available only from the evening box office. The box office opens one hour before the performance starts.
Internet ticket sales - see web-addresses below

Tickets & Info

Venue

Volksoper Wien

Währinger Straße 78
1090 Wien

Current Dates

  • Mon. 10 Nov 2014, 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Nov 2014, 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 18 Nov 2014, 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 01 Jan 2015, 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Jan 2015, 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Feb 2015
  • Thu. 19 Feb 2015
  • Mon. 16 Mar 2015
  • Wed. 01 Apr 2015
  • Wed. 06 May 2015
All dates

May 2015

  • Wed. 13 May 2015
  • Sun. 17 May 2015
  • Mon. 25 May 2015

June 2015

  • Mon. 22 Jun 2015